Results - New South Wales
15 November 2018

NSW 10R Class State Championship - 10/11th November

The 2018 NSW 10 Rater State Championship
This is an ARYA Ranking Event

Hosted by Kogarah Bay Radio Yacht Club 10th and 11th November 2018



Eighteen skippers turned up to sail in the Championship including defending champion Andrew Reid from Melbourne. The remainder of the fleet was made up of three skippers from Canberra MYC, seven from the Northern Mariners, Trevor Fisher from Queensland, Selwyn Holland from Wollongong RYC, Greg Mence from Lake Macquarie RYC and four from the host club.

The weather was warm with a brisk southerly breeze blowing, a favoured direction at Kogarah Bay, with a rising tide that was to have an influence later in the morning. All skippers elected to use B rig.
PRO Colin Court (the NSWRYA President) set a windward leeward course of two and a bit laps with a gate at the bottom and the finish line to windward of the start line. Racing got underway in two fleets right on time at 10am. Unfortunately, the incoming tide and southerly wind brought lots of weed onto the course. Colin decided to call lunch early so the weed had a chance to blow off the course. Racing continued after lunch with much less weed.

Towards the end of the day the tide again played a part in the results. This time the tide fell rapidly, causing some skippers to run aground while trying to get an extra lift on port tack. The course was moved further out and saved more red faces. Thanks to Allen Roberts for rescuing the beached boats.

At end of the day, after 11 races Scott Condie sailing his new Trance was leading. Phil Page was second sailing his brand spanking new Sanga which was launched for the first time that morning. Andrew Reid (Trance) was third, followed closely by Owen Jarvis (Trance) and Steve Sedgmen (Sanga). Keeping the leaders on their toes was the next group of Mark Newman, Maurice Fletcher and Joe Roos, all sailing Sangas. The rest of the competitors were having their own private battles, and everyone was enjoying the regatta.

Unfortunately, three skippers had some technical issues and missed a number of races.

After the racing twelve of the skippers met at Taren Point Bowling Club for their retro night and a bang up Chinese meal and several beers. Sedgy tried his best to ply those skippers

ahead of him with “special” drinks. His dastardly plan didn’t work on Condie, Reid, Page or Jarvis, but he did manage to rehydrate himself, along with the few others who remained after dinner. Luckily TPBC managed to put up with the rowdy sailors and even allowed them on the courtesy bus for the ride back to the motel.


The day was again warm and sunny but with a light variable breeze. Kogarah Bay member Wayne Keavy volunteered to PRO as the expected PRO couldn’t make it. Thanks Wayne from all the skippers for giving up a day’s racing so the others could enjoy themselves. The other skippers who missed races on Saturday were back and ready to race.

Racing started about 10.20am in a soft breeze and then a break was called for two minutes silence for Remembrance Day.
The breeze settled in from the east and racing got underway with a three lap windward and return course with a run to the finish. Just after lunch the breeze had strengthened enough for skippers to start changing down to B rig for the rest of the day. Thankfully there was minimal weed to spoil the racing and Wayne kept things humming along with swift changeovers between fleets. Some skippers got excellent value for money by changing between fleets nearly every race and some say they should have paid extra because of all the additional sailing practice they were having.
So, after eighteen races the 2018 NSW 10 Rater Champion is Scott Condie from KBRYC. The racing was close with only seven points separating first and second. Third and fourth were even closer with Phil Page only three points ahead of Owen Jarvis. The full results are below.
The next 10 Rater ranking regatta in NSW will be the Tyson Trophy hosted by the Northern Mariners at Mount Penang on Saturday the 1st December 2018. Online entry is available on the NSWRYA website.

These regattas don’t just happen without someone to run them so thanks to KBRYC and KBSC for hosting the regatta, the PROs Colin Court and Wayne Keavy and their helpers Allen Roberts, Ron Moon, Ted Gay and Mal Cody. Special thanks to John Lewis from KBSC for catering the tasty and healthy lunches.


Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

 Copyright & Disclaimer

Important:: All information contained on this site is provided in good faith as a general reference source only.  We therefore do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of any reference material or opinions expressed herein and it is the responsibility of the user to confirm all data which may be provided through this website. All Rule information is also provided in good faith as a general reference source only. Further clarification on any rules must be obtained by consulting the current sailing rules in print. Boats For Sale and/or Wanted to Buy : Please Confirm all Details, including Prices and specifications with the individual Vendor and/or Consumer and do not divulge any bank details until you are satisfied with any arrangements entered into.  E. & O.E.