Results - Queensland Results
24 January 2017

Brisbane IOM Challenge - 21/22nd January 2017

IOM Challenge BRYC E


32 skippers registered for the event and, pleasingly, all 32 showed up on the day.

Fortunately, the predicted maximum temperature of 35 for Saturday did not eventuate. The predicted south easterly change kicked in early, and after only a few seeding races in a north westerly, the remainder of the 2 days was spent sailing in a sometimes quite brisk south-easterly. Ideal for the Eagleby venue, as the course could be set across the face of the control area.

Racing, under the control of PRO Iain Kirley, got underway on time on Saturday, and at first it didn’t look all that promising, with a light and shifty north westerly and cloudy skies. It then swung around to a light South easterly and for a while the wind didn’t get much better. But by around 11:00 am it had picked up to the predicted 15-25 kph. The wind made it difficult for our resident chef, David Cox, to keep sufficient heat in his BBQ, and lunch was delayed an hour. Oh, and it rained/drizzled on an off for most of the afternoon with the roll of distant thunder thrown in for good measure.

The field was divided into three fleets on Saturday, however it was decided that Sunday would be run with just two fleets. Both options come with their pros and cons, however with the big fleets and strong winds, the windward mark is a very busy place for skippers and observers alike.

The strong conditions, which even saw the emergence of a few “C” rigs on Sunday, made for spirited racing, and ultimately several withdrawals. The vast majority of penalties were settled on the water, and only one protest for redress was heard, (and upheld).

Congratulations to Garth Halton, Lindsay Walker, and Allan Walker.

The BRYC wishes to thank the following people for assisting in what was a most successful and enjoyable event.

The 32 skippers who attended. One, Sean Wallis, from as far away as Western Australia.

Scoring: David Black and Anne Walker assisted by Charmaine White and Ian Lobely
PRO: Iain Kirley
Observers: Dale Smith, Dennis Crawley, Mike Barton, Ian Smith
Dinghy Operators Ian Smith, Dale Smith
Protest Committee Chairman : Dayle Smith
Catering: Clive Ball, David Cox
Photography: Paul Newman

Ian Smith

Secretary/ Traesurer



Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

 Copyright & Disclaimer

Important:: All information contained on this site is provided in good faith as a general reference source only.  We therefore do not accept any responsibility or liability for the accuracy of any reference material or opinions expressed herein and it is the responsibility of the user to confirm all data which may be provided through this website. All Rule information is also provided in good faith as a general reference source only. Further clarification on any rules must be obtained by consulting the current sailing rules in print. Boats For Sale and/or Wanted to Buy : Please Confirm all Details, including Prices and specifications with the individual Vendor and/or Consumer and do not divulge any bank details until you are satisfied with any arrangements entered into.  E. & O.E.